Ella’s food solution for… Guilt-free comfort food

Healthy chicken curry
Healthy chicken curry

A curry is often something people think of as unhealthy but this is only because they associate it with their local take-away where salt and fat are very prominent ingredients. This healthy recipe will allow you to enjoy a truly delicious curry for whenever you want comfort and warmth. The first time I made this I couldn’t believe how easy it was!

Firstly, you must heat the oil for your onion, garlic, chilli and ginger (I buy the dry powder rather than fresh – lasts so long and can be added to all sorts). You can vary these amounts depending on flavour and number but if unsure, 1 of each will be fine to make 2 portions. Then add 4-5 teaspoons of a curry paste of your choice. I did this one using rogan josh which tasted great with chicken too – a great source of lean protein. Once you have added the chicken and let cook through, add 100ml of chicken stock, 4 tablespoons of half-fat crème fraîche, 1 teaspoon of tomato purée and black pepper. Then stir in green beans and cover for 10-15 minutes to cook. After that, stir in a handful of chopped almonds which are bursting with nutrients; potassium, magnesium and monounsaturated fats. Nuts really are a superfood which will keep you feeling fuller for longer.

So next time, instead of getting a takeaway, enjoy the satisfaction of having made this mighty meal yourself. You will reap the benefits through saving money, maintaining your health and eating a high-quality, delicious meal. And again, remember to make extra which you can freeze and get out whenever you next want your inviting curry!

3 Comments on “Ella’s food solution for… Guilt-free comfort food

  1. Another winner – you must make this when you get home. The picture is lovely too – I’m guessing you used brown rice from the appearance – you don’t say. Looking forward to next week’s post – how about a solution for me – I’ve eaten out (or at least at someone else’s house) three nights, what should I eat on the fourth? I want a mighty meal full of comfort and warmth too! Love you loads my clever girl Mum xx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    • I certainly will. I actually used a pack of uncle Ben’s rice as it was on offer down from £1.65 to £1! Great to stock up on when they’re on offer as they’re so easy and flavourful – I used peshwari rice which I really love. I will keep that in mind for my next post… Thank you xx

      Like

  2. This looks so gorg Ella, thanks for sharing!! Definitely going to have to impress someone, or maybe just myself, with this recipe. Can’t wait to see you tomoz dude xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

