Not-so-plain Plane Food

I’ve been lucky enough to travel to Madrid a few times in the past year and for me it’s always important to have a tasty meal to have on the journey. Food at the airport can be very expensive and often its difficult to find a healthy choice. Making your own saves money and ensures a nourishing feast. However, what you need to be careful about when travelling through an airport is that you do not have any liquid in your lunchbox which includes foods like hummus and almond butter. This meal is perfect as it complies with airport security without compromising on flavour.

Last week I made a big batch of this buckwheat salad and the sweet potato wedges which I then enjoyed hot and cold for the following days. Doing this gives the lemon juice time to be absorbed. I topped mine with some cashews as I happened to have a few left in my cupboard but any nut or seed would work great to add some crunch and plant protein.

Ingredients:

1/3 c Buckwheat
1 large Carrot
1/2 inch Ginger
1/2 tin Mixed Beans
1 tsp Miso
1/2 Lemon
1 medium – large Sweet Potato
1 handful Nuts or Seeds

Like I say, it’s a great idea to double up and make extra quantity for before you fly (and you can certainly enjoy this meal without flying!).

Firstly, heat the oven to 180 degrees and slice your sweet potato into thick wedges then place on a baking tray with olive oil and lots of paprika. Ensure all the wedges have oil and paprika on them then put into the oven for about 45 minutes. After about 20 minutes/half an hour, rinse then boil the buckwheat in 1 cup of water for about 10-15 minutes until all the water has been absorbed into the grain. Meanwhile, grate your carrot and chop the ginger as finely as possible. Drain and rinse the beans then add to the buckwheat once cooked along with the grated carrot, lemon juice, ginger and miso.

In the spirit of this post, I’m afraid I will not be able to post next week as I’ll be out of the country and will be sure to pack some not-so-plane plain food! I am being taken away for my 21st birthday which is such a treat! After that I will be posting as normal every week on a Thursday.

Leave a Reply

