Travel: Newcastle

IMG_2850

Last weekend I went up to Newcastle to stay with my friend and although it was a very busy weekend I made sure to find some fantastic foodie spots so thought it’d be a good idea to share them with you.

The Naked Deli:
I had visited this cafe for lunch last time I was in Newcastle and made sure to return. Here it only serves naked food, meaning nothing processed, only natural whole foods. They offer a paleo smorgasbord of tasty foods including eggs, superfood bread, courgetti, gluten free grains, line caught salmon, organic eggs, chicken and bacon, grass-fed beef as well as cold pressed juices, fresh smoothies and raw deserts. Eating here you can trust that you’re getting the very best!

This health food cafe is situated on Chillingham Road. This time my friend and I went for a brunch to fill us up for a big day ahead so I ordered the Full Naked Breakfast and boy did it fuel me! I don’t usually eat meat partially due to the amount of processed and unethical farming that now unfortunately exists, however at The Naked Deli I could trust that each and every piece of meat had come from a well-treated, free-range, organic animal meaning it was far far healthier!! We also got some raw deserts which we actually ended up eating for breakfast the next day. We chose the raw carrot cake, raw snickers slice and nut butter fudge and my they were good decisions! For both of us (fudge fiends) the nut butter fudge was our favourite, it really did taste just like fudge but was made with real, natural, whole foods. If anyone is in Newcastle I would certainly recommend a visit to The Naked Deli. Simply by dining here you are supporting healthy, well treated animals and I think everyone no matter whether they are a vegetarian, vegan, or carnivore would find something they love!

Cold & Press:
This is a small juice bar in Jesmond on Acorn Road which I spotted when walking to the supermarket. It’s a fairly new set-up and has an impressive range of juices. They also sell loose leaf tea, coffee, smoothies, salads, breakfast pots, wraps, filtered flavoured waters, milks and delicious-looking homemade sweet treats such as sweet potato brownies, granola bars and protein balls! All the juices are cold pressed which means every last drop of juice is squeezed out of the pulp and also means they can last 3 days in the fridge.

I bought a juice named simply Green 3 for my train journey home but also one of their tonics for the next morning. The green juice consisted of spinach, cucumber, green apple, lemon and ginger and I really enjoyed it. Cold-pressed green juice is the most nutrient dense concoction of all! The tonic I bought for the morning was a concentrated combination of lemon, honey, ginger and cayenne pepper – it was as powerful as it sounds! This really is a fantastic way to wake up your circulation system though and was just what I needed after a tiring weekend.

Cold & Press offer juice cleanses if you are interested but again I would also recommend this place for anyone around Jesmond just for nipping in and trying out a superfood desert or a tasty smoothie.

Leave a Reply

