Travel: Barcelona

IMG_2714

Last month I was lucky enough to be whisked away to Barcelona for my 21st birthday; a wonderful treat that I loved every minute of. Barcelona is such a beautiful city with so much going on and it has so much good food! Sometimes when abroad it can be difficult to find the healthy meals you’re used to but this is certainly not the case here. Just by walking through the streets we came across fresh juice bars, markets full of colourful fruit and veg and we hunted down some great whole food cafes and restaurants.

Since I’ve been back I’ve been asked a few times about where I ate and so I thought it would be a great idea to share it with everyone before summer for anyone going or anyone who may go in the future. I would certainly recommend it!

Biocentre:
This is a vegetarian restaurant in the centre of Barcelona with many vegan and gluten free options. The inside is cosy yet quirky and has a lovely atmosphere and great staff. I ordered the Seitan and Mushroom burger which I’d never tried before and really enjoyed it. They brought us a jug of tap water and the beer was organic just like the rest of the food. I really enjoyed eating here and would certainly go back.

Federal:
Federal is a cafe which serves brunch until well into the afternoon. It’s based on modern Australian cuisine so there’s lots of eggs, avocado and although I don’t actually drink coffee they looked very impressive indeed! Here I had an indulgent breakfast of french toast with caramelised banana, maple syrup and a sprinkling of cacao – absolutely dreamy. They also serve delicious smoothies, I love Tommy’s Liquid Green which is full of green goodness.

Organics:
We came across Organics by chance one night when we were heading to a different restaurant and the big sign caught my eye. Here everything is organic and offers meat as well as vegetarian options. It turned out that it had been just a cafe and this was their first ever night open as a restaurant. I have to say that you could tell the staff weren’t properly in the swing of things yet but nevertheless it’s great to know that there’s a fully organic restaurant which is expanding.

The Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria:
Finally I must mention the markets. They are great places to go and explore as there is so much fresh produce which is great to load up on if you’ll be cooking yourself. There are stalls full of fresh fruit, veg, fish, nuts and incredible chocolates!

Leave a Reply

