Textured Tortilla Mix

I haven’t cooked eggs for a long time but this week I’ve been doing some intense training sessions in the mornings and was trying to get as much protein in my body as possible to repair and rebuild my muscles. I do really enjoy eggs and think that my body uses them well now as part of a varied diet. After the toughest session of the week last Saturday I headed straight for the Bondi farmers markets to get myself a box of organic, free range eggs.

This meal makes for an amazing breakfast, full of protein and healthy fats and without hardly any sugar. I find that if I eat a sweet breakfast, it can leave me craving it throughout the day. I love having savoury, filling breakfasts just like this one, especially after a workout. Having said that, this also makes a great lunch or dinner.

I am using corn tortillas which I bought from my work; they are gluten free, dairy free and free of preservatives or additives and all you need to do is head them in a pan for 10 seconds on either side. I like using them to wrap up the filling however I like to make a lot more filling than can actually fit inside, therefore, I place the tortillas on the side so that I can munch on the filling with and without the tortillas.

My favourite thing about this dish is the number of contrasting textures! The poached eggs alone give both a solid and liquid texture which oozes onto the rest of the ingredients. There is a softness from the cooked mushrooms and tomatoes and an even softer softness (mmm) from the hummus and avocado! You get a fresh crunch from the lettuce and mung bean sprouts and then a dense crunch from the pumpkin seeds. It’s such a joy making your way through this delicious plate of nourishment. I’m so excited to make it again!

Ingredients:
1 tbsp coconut oil

2 Tortillas
4 Mushrooms
3 medium sized Tomatoes
2 Eggs
1/2 large Avocado (/1 small)
Lettuce
2 tsps Tamari
2 cloves Garlic

2 tsps Tahini
1tbsp Sesame or Olive oil
1 handful Mung Bean Sprouts
1 handful Pumpkin Seeds
1/2 Lemon
Paprika
Chilli flakes

1 tbsp Hummus (optional)

Firstly bring a saucepan of water to a rolling boil before cracking in your eggs; turn off the heat and put the lid on. Leave the saucepan for 3-4 minutes to create perfectly poached eggs. Meanwhile, heat the coconut oil and add the sliced garlic then add your chopped mushrooms and tomatoes along with a good shake of paprika. As the veg cooks, slice your lettuce and avocado, squeezing over the juice of the lemon and adding to your plate. When the tortillas have been warmed through (according to packet instructions) fold these alongside the salad. When the veggies are done, add the tamari then stir and add to the building plate. Put your poached eggs on top then add the sprouts, seeds, oil and chilli flakes… Dive in head first!

Leave a Reply

