Chocolate Orange Smoothie

I’ve always been a huge fan of chocolate orange, I just love it and now I’ve finally worked out how to make it myself with wholefood – hallelujah! While living in Bondi, I worked in an amazing health food store and we created a Nutella Crunch smoothie that I just couldn’t get enough of; I’d tell every customer who wants a smoothie that they should choose this chocolatey dream and never did anyone regret it. This recipe stems from my love of that rich decadence; it’s not for the faint hearted, this is for my fellow chocoholics! This will satisfy all your needs and leave you energised yet wrapped in a creamy blanket of comfort.

Ingredients:
1 Banana
1 Orange (juice & zest)
1/2 Avocado
2-3 stalks Kale
1/2 can Coconut milk (you may need to add more depending on the size of your thickeners)
1 tsp Vanilla
1 tsp Nut Butter (I used ABC (almond, brazil, cashew) spread – my new favourite!)
2 tbsps Raw Cacao
1 tbsp Chia Seeds
1 tsp Pure Maple Syrup (or Honey)
1-2 tsps Cinnamon

Firstly wash the skin of your orange then grate the peel then chop it in half or quarters and squeeze the juice into your blender along with the zest. You can actually add the whole segments of orange, just make sure to remove any stones and pith. Add the rest of the ingredients and blend. If it looks too thick you can add more coconut milk water. The thickness will vary according to the size of the banana and avocado you have used and it depends the way you like it. It will thicken over time due to the chia so if its left it will become more of a mouse, also delicious.

Leave a Reply

