Last week I arrived home in England. I made a quick decision to take a break from travelling to fly half way across the world to surprise my mum for her 60th birthday; I spent 33 hours travelling on four planes and even with delays and a missed flight, it has been well worth it. It’s amazing being able to spend time with my loved ones and it’s also so great getting back in the kitchen while I’m here. Ever since being home I’ve been cooking pretty much every meal for us.

After being in Asia for 6 weeks I was delighted to get back to my usual eating habits that make me feel so good. During my time travelling, carbs have played a much bigger role in my meals than usual. Carbs aren’t bad but I don’t usually eat them in such a large quantity and certainly not if I’m not doing the exercise to match… which I wasn’t. On top of that, rice, noodles and vegetables are almost always fried; so basically, there was a lot of stodge. This is why I’ve loved being able to use fresh ingredients to make healthy recipes.

I know that lots of my friends who are still at uni are going through a stressful period right now with it being exam time. It’s at times like this when, often, people don’t feel like they have the time or energy to make great dinners in the kitchen. However, this is a also a time when you need nourishment the most! This smoothie recipe is bursting with health and vitality; it’s thick and has so many textures due to the toppings which makes it really interesting and filling, plus, it can be made in 5 minutes.

For anyone needing an extra boost of health, this is for you.

P.S. It tastes delicious!

Ingredients:

1/2 Banana
1/4 Avocado
1 tbsp Coconut Milk
1 large handful of Kale
2 Celery sticks
Coconut Water (amount depends how thick you want it)
(Spirulina, Hemp, Flax – optional)

Possible toppings:
Blueberries
Dried Fig
Chia Seeds
Almond Butter

Add the banana, avocado, coconut milk and celery to the blender and you might want to blend this first depending on your machine. Tear the kale leaves from the stems, wash and add too, along with your chosen superfoods. I have spirulina tablets with me from travelling so I pop six of these in my morning smoothie now. Add a good slosh of coconut water then blend. You may now want to add more coconut water, depending on your desired consistency. Pour the thick smoothie into a bowl and top with blueberries, sliced dried figs, chia seeds and almond butter. This all adds so many different textures to work your way through. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

