It’s a common misperception that healthy eating must be both expensive and time consuming. The main reason that I don’t find this to be the case is because I’ve got most of the ingredients to my meals already in my cupboards, bar the fresh veggies, therefore the meal is actually cheap and easy. I understand that looking at a list of ingredients including oils, herbs and spices etc can look daunting if you don’t have any of these items to begin. This is why I have created a shopping list of what I consider to be the essentials for living a deliciously healthy lifestyle where preparing food is easy and enjoyable. The money used on these items may at first be fairly costly, however it is an investment which will just keep on giving.
Store Cupboard Essentials:

Oats
Brown Rice
Quinoa
Lentils
Miso Paste (unpasteurised)
Tamari
Tahini
Coconut oil
Extra virgin olive oil
Chickpeas
Pumpkin Seeds
Almond butter
Raw Cacao
Almond Milk (or any other non-dairy milk)
Cumin
Paprika
Turmeric
Fresh garlic

I think this is a great selection of essentials that will provide the basis for amazing smoothies, porridge, roasted veg, salad dressings, curries, stir fries and many more. On top of this list you will, of course, need to add the fruit and veggies that you like. I change what fresh foods I get depending on the season, where I’m buying and what catches my eye. In general though, my most used fresh items probably consist of…

Avocado
Spinach
Lemons
Broccoli
Mushrooms
Kale
Peas
Bananas
Carrot
Aubergine / Eggplant
Zucchini / Courgette
Cauliflower

If you feel like you have adequate funds to go beyond the initial list, here are a few other bits that I use a lot of too.

Apple cider vinegar (unpasteurised)
Sesame oil
Black Beans (or any other kinds of beans)
Coconut milk (can)
Chilli flakes
Mixed italian herbs (dried)
Fresh herbs such as basil, coriander, mint, sage.
Chia seeds
Hemp protein
Medjool dates
Buckwheat
Brown Rice Pasta

4 Comments on “Stock up your store cupboard

Leave a Reply

