Here is my first meat recipe. My diet is still very much plant-based, however after years of iron deficiency and a more recent b-12 deficiency alongside hormonal imbalances, I decided, with the help of my doctor and naturopath, that my body may just need a little red meat these days. I have started to include small quantities of the best quality meat as responsible meat eating is something I am passionate about. While organic food of all kinds is hugely beneficial, organic meat is massively important. Local, organic, grass-fed beef has become part of my weekly diet and so I experimented a little and created this delicious Bolognese that has been tried and tested on my friend who is a real meat-eater, he loved it and I hope you do too.

I think that it’s important to constantly reassess our bodies and check in with what they are telling us. Our body’s are constantly changing and a diet we may have thrived on in the past may not be the same forever. Listen to your body and let it be your guide.

Ingredients:
Organic minced Beef (I just asked the butcher for enough for 2 people)
1 Onion
2 Cloves of Garlic
1 tin Tomatoes (I used organic tomatoes with basil & oregano)
1 tin Chickpeas
2-3 stalks Celery (whole – inc leaves)
1 tsp Paprika (if you don’t have all these spices don’t worry, just go with what you’ve got)
1tsp Cumin
1 tsp Ginger
1tsp Cinnamon
1 tsp Garam Masala
1 tsp Coconut Oil
1 tsp Black Pepper
10 Kalamata Olives
A pinch of Chilli Flakes
1 tbsp Fennel Seeds

Heat the oil in a pan and add diced onion, ginger, garlic, cumin, paprika. After a couple of minutes, add the mince and break up in the pan. Add black pepper, chilli flakes and cut all the celery into slices then combine with beef. When the mince is brown, add the drained and washed chickpeas, olives, cinnamon and Garam masala. Add the tomatoes then fill the tin half way with boiled water from the kettle and pour into the pan. Stir thoroughly. Let the mixture cook for around 30 minutes, keep stirring every few minutes. Add fennel seed to small pan and turn on the heat to toast them. Use these to top the Bolognese after serving into bowls.

Leave a Reply

