This recipe is inspired by the beautiful cooks at Byron Yoga Centre where I study two days a week. This week I’m actually just completing my level 2 teacher training there after studying for six months, but long ago on our very first day we were treated to lunch and were all given this almond bread… it was never forgotten. Every other lunch time was delicious but my group could never stop wondering when that unbelievable almond bread would show its face back on the menu. Eventually, I asked for the recipe and since that day I’ve been chopping and changing it every time, playing with lots of ideas. The first time it was too moist, then too dry, I’ve often had it become more of an almond crumble, however this time I got it just right.

Nevertheless, what I have here is a very vague recipe. That is not because I’m trying to keep some big secret but it’s because I want everyone to have the opportunity to express their creativity in the kitchen. I loved making all my ‘mistakes’ and there was certainly never a batch that went uneaten nor enjoyed! Experimenting with different spices, veggies, oils and milks and seeing what works for your tastebuds is what makes baking so fun.

As you can see I enjoy a little bread with my butter but that’s actually doctor’s orders (winning!!). After a one on one consultation with an ayurveduc doctor, I was told that I couldn’t have enough healthy fats to nourish my dry nervous system; and so, I bake ghee filled, butter topped bread and I’m one very happy girl. But if you prefer you can use olive oil or coconut oil as was suggested to me in the first recipe and this bread is wonderful with salads, soups, etc and makes a great breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Anyway, here’s my rough outline of what went in to my latest creation. Have a read and have the best time creating your own nuttiness…

Ingredients:

2 cups Almond Pulp (I have this from making almond milk. Almonds or almond meal works fine)
2 cups Buckwheat Flour (or use brown rice flour)
1 grated Zucchini (here just use whatever veggies you’ve got in the fridge)
Broccoli (I had a very small amount and just cut up into tiny pieces)
1/2 cup Filtered Water (you may want to use a nut milk)
3-4 heaped tbsp melted Organic, Grass-Fed Ghee
2 tbsp Chia Seeds
1 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Bicarb Soda
Fresh Rosemary Sprigs
Dried Italian Herbs
Turmeric, Paprika, Cumin, Madras Curry Powder
Fennel Seeds & Corriander Seeds
Himilayan Salt & Pepper

Method:

Heat the oven to 180 degrees. Melt the ghee in a sauce pan then combine with almond pulp (just blend almonds in food processor if you have the whole nuts), flour, chia seeds, baking powder, bicarb soda, rosemary sprigs, herbs & spices. Then add the fennel and coriander seeds to the pan and let them toast. Once the fennel is changing colour and producing an aroma take off the heat and add to all of the other ingredients with a good dose of salt and pepper. Get your hands in there and miss mash everything together along with the water which you may need to play around with on quantities. Line a baking tray and push the mixture into all corners and create a fairly smooth top. Place in the oven for around 45 minutes. You can test if it’s ready by placing a sharp knife in and if it comes out clean then it’s ready, if part of the bread comes out on it, leave it a little longer. Allow the bread to cool a little before slicing.

Please note: I use almond pulp which is an already wet mixture. If you’re using dry nuts, you will need to add more liquid to this recipe, either from water, nut milk, oil… have a play and find out!

Leave a Reply

